Pickled Sauerkraut Stuffed Banana Peppers

14 Oct

Pickled. Sauerkraut. Stuffed. Banana Peppers.

I’d like to let that soak in for a minute.

When I first saw this idea/recipe I was left stammering, speechless…

I admit, I’m still a little verklempt just trying to write about this.  There is so much to love in that one little description. It’s so evocative of old world traditions, not to mention a whole host of family ones as well.

Still, my second thought, once I regained the ability for coherent thought was that these could go either way. They could be other worldly good, or they could be overwhelming and off putting.

But the idea at least was like an idea worm. It bored into my subconsciousness and stayed there to the point that I was dreaming about making these. So to deal with the continuing glut of banana peppers I set out to make these a few weeks ago.

Now, the original recipe I saw was made with shredded cabbage, so you’d be pickling the cabbage at the same time as the peppers.  A thrill passes through me just thinking about it! But I’m afraid fall is getting the better of me and I decided to compromise and make it with sauerkraut–even realizing that it will sort of get double pickled, if that is even possible.

Also, I feel that using mass produced sauerkraut is a compromise, but again, I’m kind of lucky I found any time to make them, so compromise I did.

These were actually super easy. You simply cut off the tops of the peppers and deseed them…

Stuff the prepared peppers full of sauerkraut (if I didn’t cheat, I’d still be shredding cabbage at this point)

Then put in jars with some garlic and pickle.

SEXY!!!

Here’s where I ran into trouble. The recipe I had just didn’t look right. At all.  I used this one, but you can see the pickling liquid isn’t enough to fill the jars and it is all vinegar. I’ve never seen a recipe that’s ALL vinegar. I don’t know if I’ve just been lucky or what.  Also, I’m finding conflicted information on canning something with oil in it.  So I called an audible at this point and went back to my favorite blogger’s recipe for un fancy pickled peppers. I KNOW this recipe is safe and there is nothing to say you can’t jazz it up by putting pickling spices of some sort into the jars, which is sort of what I ended up doing.  So basically I took the recipe above, took out the oil and used the unfancy pickling liquid.

Now for the real question…how do they taste?

I don’t know! I just made them few weeks ago and by the time they were ready I was totally in the weeds at work. This weekend I’m thinking about smoking a pork shoulder and making pulled pork sandwiches with thick slices of pickled sauerkraut stuffed peppers. Doesn’t that sound good? I’ll let you know how it turns out when I do!

3 Responses to “Pickled Sauerkraut Stuffed Banana Peppers”

  1. nab October 15, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I just heard about these 3 weeks ago when i was buying apples @ local farm stop. a man had a huge bag of banana peppers, which when asked, he answered that his wife stuffed them with kraut, and put them in a basic pickle brine. he got about 4 peppers per quart jar. since then, they have been stored in my memory bank! no one i know of has heard of them, and now i saw this post on Food in Jars website. thanks for sharing!

    • Jennifer England October 20, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      So. Good. Cracked open a jar last night and had slices on a hot dog. Somehow they were really hot. I got my hot and mild peppers all mixed up. Still delicious. I’m dying to make some pulled pork and enjoy it with slices of these bad boys.

  2. Jennifer England January 4, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    My dad reported at Christmas that they ate the entire jar of these that I gave them in one sitting as soon as they opened them. They are addictive!

Leave a Reply

