Tomato Jam

2 Sep

My garden had some sort of blight that killed my zucchini and eventually got to my tomatoes. I was afraid I’d get none at all. But I still had more than I could reasonably eat so I went looking for something to preserve that I could do in a smaller quantity than canned tomatoes–which in my mind MUST be done in bulk!

<– Look at them all! Just proving that even a few sickly tomato plants will yield a lot of fruit!

I found a lot of interesting recipes I might like to try , but this recipe for Tomato Jam from one of my favorite blogs Food in Jars sounded the best.

Chief among it’s selling points; no peeling or de-seeding!  As Marisa at Food in Jars points out, the skins and seeds give the jam the body you want in a jam.  Also, no peeling and de-seeding. Win/Win.

 

So I set about chopping my tomatoes (I guessed on the pounds because this was before I got my exciting new kitchen scale!)

Added spices, cloves, cinnamon, ginger, sugar. I like where this is going…

Boil, boil, toil and trouble. Cauldron burn and cauldron bubble.

I may have cackled as the sumptuous aroma filled the house…

Can it.

The step I didn’t show was the tasting. I. Love. This. I’m a big fan of tomatoes and an even bigger fan of concentrated tomato goodness. I love roasted tomatoes, tomato sauce simmered for hours, and this jam. It has that deep rich flavor of slow cooked tomatoes, with some of the sweetness of a jam.  Though I’m certain it will be good on burgers, what I really cannot wait for is to eat this with cheese and bread. Nom nom nom!

Tomato Jam

5 pounds tomatoes, finely chopped
3 1/2 cups sugar
8 tablespoons lime juice
2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon red chili flakes

Combine all ingredients in a large, non-reactive pot. Bring to a boil and then reduce temperature to a simmer. Stirring regularly, simmer the jam until it reduces to a sticky, jammy mess. This will take between 1 and 1 1/2 hours, depending on how high you keep your heat.

When the jam has cooked down sufficiently, remove from heat and fill jars, leaving 1/4 inch of head space. Wipe rims, apply lids and twist on rings. Process in a boiling water canner for 20 minutes.

When time is up, remove jars from water bath and allow them to cool. When jars are cool enough to handle, test seals. Store jars in a cool, dark place for up to one year.

Leave a Reply

