Pickled Sugar Snap Peas

28 Jun

As a side note during the epic canapalooza weekend I made sugar snap peas (mentioned here).

They take 2 weeks to pickle so they were just ready this weekend.

Like I said, they were a side note, so I popped open a jar not really expecting much. Boy was I wrong.  Unfreakingbelievablydelicious. I think the name should be changed to unfreakingbelievablydelicious pickled snap peas.  These were a huge hit. HUGE. My ever faithful testers Desiree Van Tassel and Tony Lodico pronounced them wonderful, but the proof is in the eating. We nearly finished one of the big jars.

I served them tossed into a salad with watermelon and feta cheese and a tarragon basil vinaigrette which was phenomenal.  Desiree, who is a watermelon junkie, actually ate the last peas off the salad leaving behind the watermelon.  These were so good I decided they needed their own post.  I strongly strongly strongly urge you to run, don’t walk, to your local farmers market, grab some peas, and make these for yourself.

The best part? These couldn’t be simpler to make. You prep your peas, make your brine, mix it together and wait.  That’s it.   The recipe is from a book called The Joy of Pickling by Linda Zieder (which I have on order!) however I found it on my favorite website Epicurious.

Here is the recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cups white wine vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon pickling salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 pound sugar snap peas, stemmed and strung
  • 4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 or 2 small dried chile peppers, slit lengthwise
  • 2 tarragon sprigs

In a nonreactive saucepan, bring to a boil the vinegar, water, salt, and sugar, stirring to dissolve the salt and sugar. Let the liquid cool.

Pack the peas, garlic, chile peppers, and tarragon into a 1-quart jar. Pour the cooled liquid over the peas, and cover the jar with a nonreactive cap.

Store the jar in the refrigerator for at least 2 weeks before eating the peas. Refrigerated, they will keep for several months.

My big unanswered question is can I process these in a hot water bath so they are sealed and can be stored out of the refrigerator for several months. Any canning experts out there that want to weigh in?

Leave a Reply

