Mmmmmarshmallows!

20 May

I like marshmallows, but unless they are in a S’more, I don’t really crave them. Until now.

THESE babies? HOLY COW.

They are from the Pittsburgh Marshmallow Factory in the Pittsburgh Public Market. My daughter and I bought 8 varieties from the PMF over the weekend and we effed. those. up.  In a good way. As we we ate them all in one sitting. That’s a lot of sugar.

We started out civilly enough. splitting them so we could get a taste of each flavor.  Then quickly went to fighting over who got the bigger piece of each one, and finally it was all “WAIT! I want ALL of that one” and finally “NO FAIR MOM, PUT IT DOWN!!” (It’s not my fault she’s smaller and slower than me).

These Bananas Foster ones were my FAVORITE.  The sugar crystals on top, mmmmmm.

Of course there wasn’t a bad one in the bunch. We also had Irish Coffee, Peppermint, Lemon, Coconut, Cinnamon, Pumpkin Spice and my other favorite Ginger.

Ginger were also faaaaaabulous.  The slight burn that follows the sticky sweetness, ZOMGLook how gorgeous the coconut ones are!

Moist, fluffy and tender, the Pittsburgh Marshmallow Factory concoctions bear little resemblance to the dry chewy nuggets you find in a bag dahn at the iggle.  And if you’ve ever read my blog you know I’m wild about the idea that these also come in Hop flavor (made with East End brewing Co Beer), and have been made with tequila, scotch and at least one other boozy flavor I can’t remember. I’m personally advocating for a Sailor Jerry Marshmallow or a Bourbon Marshmallow.

I’ve been trying to come up with a creative use for them I can whip up in my kitchen and I’ve been slightly disappointed in myself, I’m drawing a goose-egg on ideas. However @pantster, one of the geniui behind these beauties once tweeted the idea to add their shockingly green, aggressively hot Ghost Pepper Marshmallows to these:


And so that is what I’m going to do!  I’m going to make some Ghost Pepper Rice Crispy Treats for On the Spot on Tuesday.

Also, and here is the really exciting news for yinz,  the Pittsburgh Marshmallow Factory has donated a gift certificate for a dozen marshmallows for our silent auction!  So come to Hough’s on Tuesday and you can taste the Ghost Pepper Treats and maybe win a dozen of the marshmallows of your choosing!

Leave a Reply

