Tempeh even my daughter loved

13 Apr

My son will tell you that raising him as a vegetarian has RUINED him because he wants to eat meat, but he finds it gross.  Or more accurately he’ll say that I have ruined him. My daughter not so much. She loves meat. Meat meat meat meaty meat.  She also loves Brussels Sprouts and tofu so we’ll call it a draw. What neither one of them will eat, is Tempeh.  However last night I made Tempeh that everyone scarfed down. It was faaaaaaaaantastic.

The recipe came from Cooking light and was for Tempeh and Green Bean Stir-Fry with Peanut Sauce

What I made was more along the lines of Tempeh and whatever I had in the fridge Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce.

That turned out to be carrots, shredded cabbage, a very sad looking green pepper, some red onion and cilantro.

I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t have mattered if it was old sneaker tongues and wilted stink leaves the Peanut Sauce was that. good.

I’d been planning to make this 3 weeks ago so I had Tempeh and the natural peanut butter, but almost everything else was substitute. Even the Siracha called up a pinch hitter (some sweet chili sauce and Frank’s Red Hot).

Didn’t matter. It was great. Also very fast, maybe 30 minutes start to finish and came in at around 9 weight watchers points for a hefty portion.

 

Really the peanut sauce was the belle of the ball. You could use any number of veggies and even meat.  But I would argue that Tempeh is the perfect vehicle for this (as a diet food) because the grainy quality means you don’t really NEED rice to go with it.  All in all delicious!

One Response to “Tempeh even my daughter loved”

  1. Emily Brungo April 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    You doing WW? If so, it WORKS. Been a lifetime member for over 2 years now.
    I heart meat.

Leave a Reply

