Tacos!

12 Apr

It’s no secret I’m dieting.

<GRRRRR>

Who wants to eat diet food though? Certainly not me. But I think maybe I’ve found the perfect diet food, and it isn’t what you think…

Ok, it maybe it IS what you think, you saw the title of the post, but you are SURPRISED, No?

Of course the magic diet food is Tacos, and I am in love.

Recently I’ve been experimenting with taco-esque concoctions and they are MAGIC!

Just follow the formula:

Meat/protein + vegetable/fruit all dressed up for prom

Viola! Fancy, exciting, yummy tacos!  Oh, and best of all they take like, 20 minutes to make, unless you get very fancy!  Double win!

We’ve made several variations so far, and none of them were anything less that tastegasmic.

We started with a simple taco made with  flour tortillas with beef (spiced up with cumin, garlic cayenne) plus mango salsa (even better because the tortillas came from the store in the strip that sells delicious homemade tortillas!)

Solidifying my love for pork, we made a version that included lime marinated pounded pork and caramelized onions (with Greek yogurt) on top of fresh corn tortillas, also from the strip.  The corn tortillas are my favorite!  We toasted them right on the fire of our gas stove.

and tonight I made these:

Pork tenderloin tacos with apple slaw

Basically I took a pork tenderloin and cut it the wrong way as Chef Rob informed me when he came down stairs thusly relieving of meat cutting duty. Once the pork was returned to my custody I marinated it in lime zest, lime juice (yes, it’s a favorite) cumin, salt, garlic and pepper and let it sit while I made the slaw.

The slaw was pre-shredded cabbage, half of a granny smith apple, half of a fuji apple, and red onion tossed with a dressing of cilantro, lime zest, lime juice and Greek yogurt.

The tacos were corn tortillas toasted over the flame, the pork cooked in a very hot cast iron pan (with only a touch of pam, no oil) and then topped with the completely guilt free slaw!

DELICIOUS!

In the car coming home from swimming lessons, as my daughter dreamed of having seconds, we fantasized about other tacos we might make create…the possibilities they are endless!

My favorite two we came up with:

Salmon cooked in our smoker, caramelized onions and apples and topped off with kale steamed and tossed with Barbecue sauce.

And….(this will be made in my house soon)

Pulled pork on a flour tortilla topped with a fast pickled apples.  Drool.

I’m thinking pickling toppings might be a way to fancy up some veggies and fruits, twist the flavors past the expected, and make me excited about dieting.  Yay.

Also, my daughter’s computer? No spell check. So though it may look like my blog has been hijacked by poorly educated hillbillies, I assure you, its just me and I’ll fix it tomorrow.

Update: The spelling has been fixed, thank you for your patience. 🙂

5 Responses to “Tacos!”

  1. Jamie April 12, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    Those sound great! We make fish tacos all summer long: tuna (or mahi mahi) marinated in soy sauce, a little sesame oil, and sesame seeds, then grilled; purple cabbage slaw with lime juice and rice wine vinegar; tomatillos in apple cider vinger and salt; lots of cilantro; fresh limes to squeeze over it all when you put in the tortilla.

    • Jennifer England April 12, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      I am soooo ready for some fish tacos! That’s actually what I’ve been craving. That sounds like a great preparation too. As soon as it stops raining…

  2. mike April 12, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    For quick pickling, try red onion. Can’t remember the process right now, but it’s a very Mexican preparation that goes great with any taco filling from tofu through beef. It’d play a little nicer with smoked salmon than super-sweet carmelized onions.

    • Jennifer England April 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Ooh, well if you have a link or a synopsis of preparation I’d love that. I’m just itching to pickle some stuff…

Leave a Reply

