OMG Rep Doyle, WTF?

7 Apr

UPDATE:  Check out Congressman Doyle’s response in the comments or look at today’s blog post, Yay Doyle, OMG GOP WTF

 

Spurred on by something that showed up in my Facebook stream, I called my Congressman, Rep. Mike Doyle to ask about his stance on HR-3 and HR-358.  The nice young man who answered the phone told me that Rep. Doyle has yet to take a position on these bills….

Really?

REALLY??????

HR-358 is the bill that would allow hospitals to let a woman die rather than performing a life saving abortion.  So the scenario is this…a woman, most likely pregnant by choice and excited to become a mother suffers some monstrous, unimaginable injury or illness or complication. The only way to save her life is to terminate the pregnancy.  A devastating and horrible choice for an expectant mother to make.  This bill would let a hospital choose (note that the hospital and doctors seem to have a choice in this matter) to refuse to perform this LEGAL and NECESSARY  medical procedure and allow the mother to die.

And Doyle doesn’t have a position on this yet????

SHAME. ON. YOU. Congressman Doyle.

Along with all the other anti-woman, infantalizing, misogynistic provisions in these bills (including the redefinition of rape)….I totally forgot where I was going with this sentence. My vision is blurring in a haze of outrage…oh, along with all these other provisions this is some of the worst and most damaging legislation for women and their families we’ve seen in a long time.  I cannot support anyone who votes for these bills. Ever.  I understand we all make compromises, and I have voted for anti-choice legislators before because they are the best choice overall, but these bills aren’t just anti choice, they will result in the deaths of women. These bills, if they become law, will condemn women to die from cancer, botched back alley abortions, and whatever you call it when a hospital watches a woman die (I call that murder.)

Please call Rep. Doyle now and urge him to “take a position” AGAINST these bills. If he wont, I can suggest a few other positions he take, starting with retired.

202-225-2135

Don’t even get me started on the defunding/ACORNING of Planned Parenthood which would actually INCREASE the number of unplanned pregnancies and women seeking abortions and the OUTRAGEOUS State Laws being proposed around the country.  (In case you hadn’t heard Iowa, for a brief moment considered a law making it justifiable homicide to kill a doctor who performs abortions. Very pro-life of them, doncha think?)

Also consider calling your Senator. You can do so through Planned Parenthood’s website which also has nifty talking points if you are nervous.  I called. I was nervous. Until I saw Rep. Doyle (DOYLE!) had not position, then I was just ANGRY.

I am so passionate about this I’m even going to include a very unflattering picture of me declaring my support for Planned Parenthood (WHO by the way is the fiscal sponsor and distributor of products for On the Spot, the evil plot to over throw the world by making sure middle school girls have access to menstrual products)

6 Responses to “OMG Rep Doyle, WTF?”

  1. Mike Doyle April 7, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I just saw your posting about your call to my office.

    The nice young man you spoke to was a new intern in my office who inadvertently gave you incorrect information about my position on H.R. 358 and H.R. 3.

    Like you, I am strongly opposed to both H.R. 358 and H.R. 3. As you know, these two pieces of dangerous legislation would impose unprecedented restrictions on health care providers and insurers.

    Specifically, H.R. 358, the Protect Life Act, which was introduced by Congressman Joe Pitts (R-PA), would change our tax laws so that people who purchase their insurance in their state health care exchange (as established by the Affordable Care Act) will not be able to be used to purchase a plan with abortion coverage, even if they write a separate check to cover the abortion coverage included in their health insurance. No plans that provide abortion coverage can have a participant that takes a federal tax credit. People who receive credits will only be permitted to purchase abortion coverage as a rider. This would essentially mean that no longer would any health insurance plans include abortion coverage.

    In addition, H.R. 358 includes a provision that allows hospitals to refuse abortion care even when a woman’s life is in danger. It does this by expanding current laws on conscience protections to allow hospitals to refuse abortion in care in all circumstances – even if a woman is hemorrhaging/has preeclampsia/will die if an emergency abortion is not performed – as a matter of conscience. The hospital not only doesn’t have to provide the life-stabilizing care, they don’t have to refer the woman elsewhere, or help with transportation.  The scope of these restrictions is unprecedented.

    You will be happy to know that when this legislation was considered before the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, of which I am a Member, I was vocal with my strong opposition, and voted against it. Despite that, H.R. 358 passed out of the Committee by a vote of 14 to 9, and will next be considered before the entire House of Representatives.

    H.R. 3, the No Tax Payer Funding for Abortion Act was introduced by Congressman Chris Smith (R-NJ). If enacted, this legislation would change our laws regarding health insurance coverage of abortion dramatically. This far-reaching legislation would not only strengthen existing provisions to prevent federal dollars from being used for abortion, but would impact the tax code, private insurance markets, and the specific laws which pertain to abortion in the District of Columbia.

    H.R. 3 is currently pending before the House Committees on the Judiciary, Energy and Commerce, and Ways and Means; I expect that it will soon be considered by the House as a whole as well.

    I would appreciate it if you share my response with your readers so that they won’t be misinformed about my position on these bills.

    If you want to respond or confirm that I actually did write this comment, please call my office back and ask for my communications director Matt. The email address I provided is a “send only” email address.

    Sincerely,

    Mike Doyle

  2. BrettB April 7, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Although I no longer live in the district I’m glad you’ve clarified this. When I originally read what Jen said I was blown away. As a man it sickens me to see legislatures attacking (mostly poor) women for political gain.

    • Angel April 7, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      Well Im Glad we cleared that up!

  3. Vanessa April 8, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Yep, the GOP would rather take a run at Planned Parenthood than pay soldiers DURING TWO WARS! Just unreal… The joke on them will be when PP ends up even stronger because of this! (See George HW Bush and the “card carrying member of the ACLU” nonsense.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yay Doyle, OMG GOP WTF? « Einstein's Desk - April 8, 2011

    […] my little blog caused a bit of a stir yesterday!  If you called Congressman Mike Doyle’s after reading yesterday’s post, or wandered […]

  2. Yay Doyle, OMG GOP WTF? « Einstein's Desk - April 8, 2011

    […] He writes (about HR-358) “You will be happy to know that when this legislation was considered before the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, of which I am a Member, I was vocal with my strong opposition, and voted against it.  Despite that, H.R. 358 passed out of the Committee by a vote of 14 to 9, and will next be considered before the entire House of Representatives.” […]

Leave a Reply

