Has bacon jumped the shark?

13 Jan

I heard someone recently assert bacon has jumped the shark.  It seems…impossible for something so fantastic to jump the shark. Maybe Bacon Ice Cream is no longer innovative, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still tremendous on a waffle.

For THE aforementioned superbowl I made the bacon explosion everyone was oohing and ahing about (unfortunately I didn’t try it, still strictly vegetarian at the time). But it seems to me that tasty food is tasty food. Artery clogging, heart attack inducing, pound packing, tasty food. I like trends, because usually they stem from someone getting creative and thinking of something new, or reinvigorating interest in something forgotten. That doesn’t (necessarily) mean the trendy food isn’t any good once it becomes so common it is boring, its just less… interesting.

What do you think?  Has bacon jumped the shark?  What will the next big thing be?  Is there a food trend out there right now to rival bacon that I’ve not heard of (not being in NY or LA)?  I heard recently that cupcakes are sooooo 2008 and that Pie is the new cupcake.

Also, I’d be interested to hear about some of the best and most creative uses of bacon folks have tried (with recipes!).

I think the bacon chocolate chip cookies were my favorite; right out of the oven they are sinfully, orgasmicly good.  I used this recipe but I didn’t have maple extract and couldn’t get enough syrup in there without ruining the cookies, so they had no maple flavor at all.  I also substituted bacon fat for half the butter.  Mmmm. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Of course bacon wrapped dates are not particularly creative but one of the best little bites of food out there.   I had the Bacon Bourbon at Salt but I the bacon was a little subtle for my liking.  I’d love to try to make some, but I can’t imagine how you do it. It seems like the fat would be…icky. I guess you could get it to congeal at the top and skim it off.  If anyone has tried it please share your experience.

So what have you made/tried/loved using bacon?

*UPDATE*  I found this video for making bacon infused bourbon. i am going to Tana Ethiopian for dinner tonight but I think I’m going to stop and buy some bourbon and some bacon on my way home!!

 

4 Responses to “Has bacon jumped the shark?”

  1. Melissa January 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Have you had chocolate bacon? 2 of the best things… together 🙂

  2. Jennifer England January 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Ha, I was looking for a recipe on Food and Wine and found a recipe for Bacon Wrapped Turkey. http://www.foodandwine.com/slideshows/most-fattening-thanksgiving-dishes

  3. Bram R January 14, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    My buddy Mike told me a story about Bacon Cabin — cabin not referring exactly to the dish, but to the preparation experience. Apparently there is a bacon entree that requires four people to spend at least one day and night in a cabin in the woods to make properly — I forget how it went but I think it was lasagnaesque and the size of a sheet pizza. I’ll try to track this down.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bacon Bourbon « Einstein's Desk - January 18, 2011

    […] Bacon Bourbon. As soon as the words dripped from my fingers to my keyboard I knew I had to try it. So I checked with teh google and found several possible methods but settled on the one mentioned in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

