Beer Heresy and (possible)Redemption

7 Jan

I’m about to tell you something scandalous….

I don’t like dogfish head 60/90/120 minute IPAs.

I KNOW.  You’ve gone and lost all respect for me.

I don’t know what it is about them, I just don’t love them. Mind you, I don’t hate them, I’d just never, ever choose to drink them if I had a suitable alternative. Which kind of sucks because the only other adult in the house worships them. Given his choice, he’d buy a case of 60 minute over almost every other beer.

Christmas seemed the perfect opportunity to gift him some beer I’d generally never buy so I got him two pint sized specialty Dogfish Head beers for Christmas, Namaste and Squall.

Let me tell you, they were FANTASTIC.  Holy cats, I could happily drink a lot of either of those beers.

The squall was a delicious, hoppy, IPA that makes me want to go back and see if suddenly I might like their other IPAs again.  It was fantastic.  Plenty of hop without being bitter or overwhelming, with a luscious sweetness to balance out the hops.  We opened it on New Years Eve and it got passed around  to universal “nom nom noms.”  Their web site describes it thusly:   “An unfiltered, 100% bottle-conditioned, super-pungent imperial I.P.A. clocking in at 9% ABV and dry-hopped with Palisade, Amarillo, Simcoe, Cascade, CTZ, and Willamette hops.” It was roughly $10, so kind of pricey, but totally worth it for the beer lover. I got it at the Robinson Market District Giant Eagle and I highly recommend RUNNING out there  and buying some.

My favorite of the two however was the Namaste. Dude. Dudettes. This. Beer. Rocks.  It’s a Belgian style white and as the label says its brewed with coriander, orange and lemongrass.   I feel like I’d have o go back and drink some more to really get the full coriander/lemongrass effect, but the orange was immediately apparent. As it wasn’t my Christmas present beer I got the small glass, which was a shame because I could have drank a bucket of this. Their website suggests it is the perfect summer beer, but I enjoyed it putting away Christmas decorations.  I wouldn’t want to wait until summer to drink it again. Also priced somewhere around the $10 mark, I recommend getting a case of this stuff and socking it away. It is listed as an occasional rarity, a Summer 2010 release, so who knows if it will come ’round again.

Sooo, I am rethinking Dogfish head. Maybe I was grumpy the last 20 times I tried it. Maybe my tastes have changed. Who knows, but I am probably going to at least get a six pack  of 60 minute (or do they only come in 4 packs?) on the way home to try out this weekend.

4 Responses to “Beer Heresy and (possible)Redemption”

  1. mike January 7, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    90 minute is by far my favorite of the triad of continuously hopped beers from Dogfish. I picked up a bottle of Dogfish King Midas a week or so ago (it’s based on an ancient recipe or something like that). Looking forward to opening that in the next day or two. I’m not universally sold on all of their beers, but I give them huge credit for taking chances.

    • Jennifer England January 7, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      See, I SHOULD love them. I really love hops. When East End added the fresh hops to their growlers this summer, I was in heaven. I really will have to give them another try (though it’s been within the last year or two that I again had one and reaffirmed that I don’t care for them.)

      • Mike January 11, 2011 at 3:20 am #

        I can see where you’re coming from with Dogfish 60 minute. It can be a little over the top on hop bitterness–somewhat unbalanced. It’s hard for it to match the hop flavor from something like East End’s Big Hop Harvest.

        My understanding of Squall is that it’s the same recipe as 120 minute but excessively dry-hopped after fermentation. That will give you a bigger malt body to balance the bitterness and fill out the flavor aroma–it’s actually very similar in process to what Scott did with this years Big Hop Harvest.

        The take-home is that, it sounds like you’re a bigger fan of hop flavor that bitterness. That’s a good explanation to give you’re waiter or bar tender when he/she asks what kind of beer you like.

        …now I need to pick up a bottle of Namaste and give it a try!

      • Jennifer England January 11, 2011 at 3:28 am #

        I think I’ve always thought dogfish head 60 minute IPA is on the sour side as opposed tobitter, but I’m going to give it another try , probably this weekend. if I had time to get out to the market district in robinson I’d also like to try their pangea, which they also carry. One of the things I love about food/drink is that my tastes are always evolving. I feel like I’be had a big change/growth in my beer taste this past 18 mos so maybe dogfishead head 60 is next.

Leave a Reply

