Duck Fat? DUCK FAT!

22 Dec

When they claim they sell everything at the Market District Giant Eagle in Robinson (do they claim that?? they should), they aren’t kidding!

I picked this little beauty up for under $6!

What in the hell, you are wondering, does one do with Duck Fat.  I’m glad you asked!

I was at a beer and food tasting at the Market District (thanks to FoodBurgh’s Mike Beattie) where they served us Potatoes with gravy, and the gravy was made with roux made with Duck Fat. (I realize that should not be capitalized, but to me it seems almost obscene to write little d Duck little f Fat– like your grandmother in her undies)  It was wonderful! It was decadent! It was obscenely good gravy, also having beer in it…I’m pausing to drool….

You could also fry potatoes in Duck Fat.  Or confit (pronounced con-fee with just a hint of snooty frenchman in it) something.  I had a brief moment where I was wondering if it would enhance chocolate chip cookies (bacon and bacon fat in them worked wonderfully) but I think that might be an insane idea.  Basically anything you fry would be better done in Duck Fat, especially if it has a solid plain starchy flavor, like bread (croutons!) or potatoes.   I’d love to hear other ideas for using Duck Fat.  (DUCK FAT!!)

I bought two for stocking-stuffers.  I’m not an anomaly in my family.

3 Responses to “Duck Fat? DUCK FAT!”

  1. Jeannette December 23, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    Ohh, I saw some in the William Sonoma catalog and was unreasonably excited by it. Thanks for letting me know I can get some within walking distance.

    • Jennifer England December 23, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

      I saw it at the Robinson Market District so I don’t know if they have it in Shadyside. But I bet they could get it if you asked. They had demi glace as well, which I kind of wish I bought now too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cooking with Booze–Infused Food « Einstein's Desk - December 28, 2010

    […] Made with Atwater Vanilla Java Porter (a beer I did not care for), brown sugar, cloves and Cinnamon, (and finished with butter) this heavenly syrup would be delicious on anything from pancakes (how about bourbon blueberry pancakes!) to pound cake.  (I left the recipe at home, I’ll put it into the comments later).  The taste is lusciously rich, with caramelly overtones and a lovely subtle bitter note thanks to the java in the porter.  This recipe came from the Market District Beer Food event referenced in the Duck Fat post. […]

Leave a Reply

